Dancer of the Day: Stephanie Maiorano   Leave a comment

 

photo by Aaron Rumley

 

In our second edition of “Dancer of the Day” we were lucky to nab some time of the very busy and hard-working Stephanie Maiorano, the star of our October 23rd performance of “Firbird”.

We were also lucky enough to get some beautiful action shots of Stephanie during her rehearsal so check out our amazing flickr album at the end of her interview!

Q: What prepares you for a role like “Firebird”?

A: Lots of ice and sleep!  Firebird is a particularly difficult role.  It has a marathon of everything in it from fast variations to slow adagio which is challenging, but so fun to do as a dancer.  However, when I come home, ice and sleep make for an easier run through.

Q: What has been the most rewarding moment of your career so far?

A: I’ve had a lot of rewarding moments, it’s hard to really pick just one.  But I guess the most recent would be dancing “Firebird” last fall.  It was my first lead with the San Diego Ballet and it was the most my stamina had ever been tested.  It was very rewarding for me to make it to that final bow, and I couldn’t be happier to do it again this year.

Q: Can you imagine yourself in any other job?

A: Absolutely not.  Ever since I can remember I’ve said I was going to be a professional ballet dancer.  I’m very lucky that I was right.

Q: What keeps you energized and motivated through a long rehearsal day?

A: It’s a mix, usually the music really gets me through it.  We get to dance to a fun mix of classical and contemporary music at San Diego Ballet, and I always find myself lost in it once it is playing.  But also knowing I’m spending my day doing what I always wanted to do energizes me.

Q: What was the last thing you saw/heard that inspired you as an artist?

A: I recently saw a video of Roland Petit’s Clavigo.  It was AMAZING. Check out a clip:

Q: What do you believe to be your biggest challenge as a dancer?

A: Turns!  It’s so funny because I always get roles with turns in them, but I’m not a natural turner.  So that’s what I would say is my biggest struggle.  But I’m working on them!

Q: What message would you like to communicate to young aspiring dancers who watch you in upcoming performances?

A: That they can be any of the dancers on stage if they want to be.  It all starts with that one ballet.  If the dance bug bits you, enroll in dance!  With commitment, focus, and hard work- you can be the dancer you want to be.

 

Make sure you check out the sensational Stephanie in San Diego Ballet’s ‘Firebird’ performing this month!

Posted October 8, 2010 by sdballet in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

